Loader Image

Cave City Tourist and Convention Commission was formed in 1978, the first tourism commission formed for a 4th Class City.  The Tourism Commission is the managing entity of the Cave City Convention Center located at 502 Mammoth Cave St., Cave City, KY.  The Cave City Convention Center opened in 1980, the first convention center located outside a major metropolitan area.

The Commission is funded by a 4% Transient Room Tax and 3% Restaurant Tax as allowed by Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) 91A.350-400.

The Board of Directors is appointed by the Mayor of Cave City for a 3 year term, with staggered dates of appointment.  Per KRS, the board consists of 3 Lodging, 1 Restaurant, 1 Chamber of Commerce, and 2 Mayor appointees.

The Tourism Commission meetings and operations are governed and regulated by:

Kentucky Open Records and Meeting Law

As defined by KRS 65A.10-90, the Cave City Tourist & Convention Commission is subject to reporting criteria for Special Purpose Government Entities.  Budget, Amended Budgets and Audit documents are available for public access at:
Special Purpose Government Entities

The 2022 Board of Directors:

  • DeLynn Buckingham – Restaurant
  • Nick Patel – Lodging – Chair
  • Heman Purohit – Lodging
  • Chris Randall – Mayor
  • Wandel Strange – Chamber of Commerce – Secretary/Treasurer
  • Vic Patel – Lodging – Vice Chair
  • Gina Lyon – Mayor – Vice Chair

Board meetings are held the second Monday of each month , 1:00pm, at the Cave City Convention Center, 502 Mammoth Cave St., Cave City, KY 42127.

Cave City Tourist & Convention Commission Tourism:

Grant Information

Grant Application